Assistive Technology

I ultimately would like to become a special education teacher when I graduate. I thought researching assistive technology (AT) would give me much more information on what is currently in the market, but I eventually found some issues concerning AT. If I never did this research paper,  I would have not learned that assistive technology and instructional technology are actually very similar. We learned in class that Inspiration is an instructional tool, but what I found from my research is that it is also considered assistive technology when concerning students with disabilities. I feel that I could benefit from much of the AT available, and I’m a college student! Having a talking spellchecker could allow me to look up long words and actually know how to say them. Teachers are not prepared to teach in inclusive settings and really many of them do not want to learn. The IEP team needs to put AT on a student’s IEP and if they are not familiar with them and the benefits, how can we promote optimal success? Teachers need to teach themselves how to use AT either by doing research, experiencing AT hands on, or from a social network. I found that user groups, blogs, or even wikis could help teachers find how to use and practice AT in the classroom. Teachers should be constantly assessing and monitoring how the AT is providing your student with support. I feel that general education teachers think its up to  the special education teacher to be taking care of “their” students. General education teachers are teaching in inclusive settings and should work with the special education teacher to learn AT and strategies.  

To my knowledge I thought AT was very effective, by hear say, it is the “new” technology, but actually little research shows proving that. I already have a bias about research and do not believe everything I read. I’m sure some students have had positive and negative experiences probably depending on many different factors like the teacher, learning environment and type of disability. I had a hard time finding really informative articles, so I’ve concluded that the  assistive technology field needs much more studies to validate the research. Many articles I read had websites available with information on  certain AT, but when I visited them I felt like they were trying to sell me something more than give me information! I realized from my paper that AT is sometimes under used and some students are not being taught how to use them. Students can have the AT, but if they do not have direct instruction when and how to use them, then they are basically useless. I read an article about using a calculator, as assistive technology, a key point was to teach students when exactly to use a calculator. You do not need a calculator when you can use mental math or a pencil and paper, the teaching piece seems to make all the difference, no matter the tool. Overall AT can benefit individual students differently, with or without “labeled” disabilities, so take the time to know your students because that is what will make all the difference.

2 Responses

  1. Excellent analysis, Jennifer. There has been a definite shift from the special education teachers meeting the needs of IEP students to the self-contained regular classroom teacher working with the support of the special education team. But, that has put a strain on preparing general education teachers… more coursework is required to help them meet the needs of at-risk students. But that’s a good thing, as you point out, because the very same strategies that help at-risk students are often the same ones that help all students.

  2. I really enjoyed your reflection on you topic. I too want to be a special education major. I think your last point is so true, it is about the relationship you create with your students. You can have all the knowledge and AT tools in the world, but if you have not made a connection with that student they wont get anything from you.

    These AT tools seem to be great assessts in any level classroom, hopefully the administration gives the proper training and allow for true educator undestanding of the purpose before they are put into action. I would assume that is why a student and teacher may have a bad experience with AT. Sounds like you learned alot about this topic, and it has sparked an interest in me to find out more about it. Thanks.

Leave a comment