Electronic class…

Today I was cleaning and organizing my bookshelves for five hours. I bought ten binders and decided to put all my folders and notebooks in binders. This process was long and tedious! I couldn’t help but think what if computers could hold all of our resources and papers electronically. I am sure it could be done, but I don’t know where to start. Maybe within a decade all college courses will have all electronic resources and a way for us to save them to our computers.

Over the past two days, I have been transferring all of my bookmarks to del.icio.us. This has been working out great because when I look to see who else is posting that website I  find even more sites that I forgot about. The list became overwhelming, when I was deciding which websites I wanted to add to my del.icio.us. Then I became sidetracked, and was totally into the new sites and forgot how I even got there!

One day I would like to have allof my resources on the computer and del.icio.us is just a start!

2 Responses

  1. I have been thinking the same thing about all these resources, papers, handouts, reading, etc. I was really curious about how long I am going to be able to access the course reserve material on the library web. There are some great articles there they I constatnly go back to for resources, and just to re-read. Hope fully I will be able to access them for ever as an alumni. That is why Dr. Ransom’s resource page is si nice. It is organized into topic, date of class, ect. This I am assuming we will always be able to access, or like you said transfer the things I want to my delicious account. I really like this delicious thing, because I use several different computers, at severall different schools throughout the day. This has allowed me easy access to all my most used sites.

  2. So glad you’re finding it a useful tool! It grows on you, too. What I love is the tagging capability. As you and more and more sites, you can always find them if you are tagging them in a consistent manner. And, others can benefit from your “finds”, too 🙂

Leave a comment